I have struggled with my weight pretty much my whole life. As a child I was chubby. As a teenager I still carried some extra weight around, though I did play softball from age 10 to 17. My first time dieting and losing weight was when I was 19 for my sister’s wedding. When I was 20 I had Bug, and for the last 10 years my weight has been up and down. My last attempt at losing weight and becoming healthier started almost 2 years ago, in October 2012.

Monkey was 16 months old and I was still carrying the “baby weight.” I tried to start working out at home, doing some Jillian Michaels workout DVD’s and trying to eat better. I lost a few pounds, but was still about 30 lbs over my pre-pregnancy weight. Yikes. After sharing an article on Facebook about hiding behind the camera because you aren’t happy with your body, a friend messaged me about Beachbody. She was a coach, helping people get healthy and lose weight at home. I had never heard about Beachbody before, so started looking into it, along with Shakeology, their meal replacement shake. After talking it over with hubby, I decided I was ready to take the leap and do something more to help me lose weight.

My journey with Beachbody was a successful one. From October 2012 to March 2014, 2.5 years, I lost 47 lbs doing various programs and drinking Shakeology (not the entire time though). I was down to the lowest weight I had been in my adult life. I felt awesome, looked good, and had a confidence I never had before. I was getting closer to my goal, needing to lose another 22 lbs to get there. But I didn’t. That’s where weight loss stopped and the weight gain began.

Last year hubby and I started the exciting and stressful process of buying out first house. I really had no idea what we were in for and the stress effected me big time. Stress eating had always been one of my biggest issues and it started to rear its ugly head again. I stress ate, I worked out inconsistently at first, then not at all.

The excuses added up:

  • Before I knew it, it was summer and the kids were home from school; it was hard to find time to workout.
  • I have so much packing and cleaning to do.
  • I’ll wait until we are moved and settled in, then I’ll start again.

Well, here I am, almost a year after moving into our new house. From March 2014 at my lowest to now, I have gained 52 lbs. I have gained back more than I lost. Since moving I have started and stopped working out, more times than I can count. This last year really has been an adjustment. We didn’t move far from our last house, but far enough that everything changed. The kids moved to a new school, new sports leagues, I had to (fairly unsuccessfully) make new mom friends, I had to adjust to not seeing my sister almost everyday like I had before. I had to find a new routine for our family to get into. Not drastically different, but enough that it was hard.

I know, those are even more excuses that I just gave myself. But I think I am ready now to actually make that change and get back to focusing on me and my well-being. Scratch that, I know I am ready for it. As I have said many times before, this summer has been long and stressful due to many circumstances. Last week, ironically enough with just 30 days left until the first day of school, I decided to challenge myself. I decided to commit to doing 30 days of yoga. I felt yoga was a good option as it is “easy” to get back into working out. It will also help me relax and focus, something I need to get through the rest of summer. The plan is to wake up and get it done first thing in the morning, it’s a nice way to start the day.

Today is day 10. Full disclosure: I have missed 2 days. 1 because I had a migraine and the other because we had family staying over, then we were at a family event all day long. I know I could have gotten a quick session in both of the days, but didn’t. Moving on. I am ready to stay the course this time. When I look back on pictures of where I started, then to where I got, and where I am now…it’s sad, yet motivating. But it’s proof that it can be done!

